OhioExpositions Commission Member Inducted into the Ohio Agricultural Hall of Fame
Doug White honored by the Ohio Agricultural Council for lifetime of service to Ohio Agriculture

Ohio Expositions Commission Member Doug White will be honored by the Ohio Agricultural Council (OAC) on Friday, Aug. 2, 2013, when he is inducted into the Ohio Agricultural Hall of Fame. The 48th annual event will be a special breakfast ceremony held at the Rhodes Center during the Ohio State Fair. Approximately 500 guests will attend the event to honor four professionals who have committed their lives to working in, promoting and advocating for Ohio’s farm and agribusiness community.

A third-generation farmer, Doug White continues to manage a livestock and crop operation with his family. His career as a public servant has included 15 years as county commissioner, a member of the Ohio House of Representatives for five years, and a member of the Ohio Senate for eight years. During his time in the Ohio Senate, White served as the Chair of the Agriculture Committee and Finance Committee, as well as Senate President. He also served as the Director of the Ohio Department of Commerce for Governor Bob Taft.

As an elected official, White used his agricultural background to guide him through the decision-making process. In his many years of public service, White consistently worked to make a positive impact on policy changes and supported the adequate funding necessary to ensure Ohio agriculture remained strong. He also supported conservation programs and practices carried out by the Ohio Department of Natural Resources and the state’s Soil and Water Conservation Districts.

White currently serves on the Ohio Expositions Commission, works to promote the Ohio 4-H program, strengthen the presence of commodity groups and continually advocate for agricultural education at the Ohio State Fair.

White will receive this prestigious award alongside three other honorable inductees: Shirley Dunlap Bowser (Williamsport), Louis M. “Mick” Colvin (West Salem) and Bernard J. Scott (Tontogeny).

The Ohio Agricultural Hall of Fame was created in 1966 and has now honored more than 200 people who have dedicated their lives to Ohio’s agriculture. Each year, four agriculture leaders are inducted into the Hall of Fame for their outstanding contributions to Ohio’s largest industry. For further information about sponsorship in honor of the inductees, or to obtain tickets to the Agricultural Hall of Fame induction ceremony, contact the Ohio Agricultural Council at 614-794-8970 or via email at info@ohioagcouncil.org. For more information about the Ohio Agricultural Council, please visit www.ohioagcouncil.org.

| Newsroom